Fluffy

Above the fluffy clouds just after leaving Manchester airport on the way to Helsinki. By this stage, my anxieties were starting to abate. My back eased up considerably overnight, which was just as well as I literally couldn't walk on Sunday evening. In addition to that, I hadn't been able to check in, but I was assured by my hosts in Finland that there wasn't a problem with the tickets. They had been in touch with Finnair.

The first problem on Monday morning arose because of a delay getting away from Edinburgh, caused by an earlier radio failure at air traffic control. I had theoretically two hours in Manchester, but I wasn't familiar with changing planes there, and I was worried about the arrangements (and whether I'd be able to walk). In fact, all was ok. There was airside transfer which was literally about passing through a door from one terminal to another, and I was in plenty of time for my next flight. I also eventually acquired boarding passes for the second two flights, including more comfortable seats than I had been allocated.

So all was smooth in the end to Turku, and really the next hiccup was the check in to the hotel. But you'll have to go over here if you want to read about that (suspect you don't!).

Despite an exhausting day, I didn't really sleep that well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.