Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mono Monday: Time*

Thank you Honeycombebeach for telling me the theme so I could take part today, and it didn't take me very long to decide this is what I wanted to do for it...

I hope there are some ELO fans out there... and if yes, that this is an album that struck a chord with you! One of my favourite secular albums of all time - A lot of studying in 1981/1982 was done listening to it. I think I had it on a cassette tape, though I had the LP record as well. Think I got the CD a few years ago.

This is what it says on the back of the CD:

A time-travel, concept album gem fro ELO... originally released in 1981, Time is a futuristic journey through a richly imagined world, powered  by the sonic force of ELO's musical artisty. Weaving fantasy and introspection, whimsy and drama, up-front guitars and electronic effects, Jeff Lynne's full-length tale of space age mystery captivates from beginning to end.

... This on the day that I watched a clip on the news of several astronauts who are sticking it out in space to record the effects on the body in preparation for a manned trip to Mars (though why we would want to populate Mars when we've made such a mess on Earth - I have no idea).

Twilight, Ticket to the Moon, 21st Century Man and of course their big single - Hold on Tight are my favourites. The other ELO album I absolutely love is Discovery.

Another day done and I have had to have my roots touched up... there's something that really tells of the passage of time! Hope you've had a good start to the week...

* Hosted by Goran Zebuhr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.