Shades Of Grey Heron

I thought I had my Blip in the bag when I shot some long-tailed-tits in the hedge south of our field. I was wearing a Fat Face top featuring them. :)

I visited Fishers Green this afternoon and sat in The Bittern Hide, hoping for the eponymous bird but keeping my eyes skinned for anything else of interest. A heron was preening and fishing and mallards, coots and moorhens were squabbling. 

As the light was fading, Skye the lovely collie and his master came in. I haven't seen them for ages. The man calls me Skye's auntie. :) We watched a small murmuration of starlings wheeling over Seventy Acres Lake between the transmission towers against the weakly sunset-lit sky. As time went on more birds joined the flock. While I was telling the man a story a sparrowhawk appeared and the entire murmuration dropped as one into the reed bed. Wish I could have captured the spectacle.

When I looked at my pics on screen I thought how mutedly lovely the heron's plumage is. I've posted herons many times before so went for this crop to ring the changes.    

     

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.