The Wren

By TheWren

slugaholic?

....No, not me. But I did come close today, as long as they are in the wild.

After 10 mms of rain fell last night these big black slugs were everywhere this morning as I walked Bruce. If ever I had doubted their ability to climb, today left me in no doubt and I found myself absolutely fascinated by their dexterity and agility, albeit all in slow motion. There were huddles of them cocooned high up in the nooks and crannies of thistles and bracken as if sound asleep with full tummies and others still foraging lower down! One had even insinuated himself down the length of a stem, almost becoming an integral part of it. He probably thought that no-one would notice him like this, completely forgetting that he is jet black and the twig light brown so he stuck out like a sore thumb slug against the grey sky!! This particular one intrigued me above all the others as he was way high in the bush, completely absorbed as he wound himself around a seed pod. The raindrops give an added sparkle and the other bits of black are other slumbering giants!

I was going to give this the title "Green and Blacks" but I thought I might offend the chocoholics amongst you.

I have an Abbeyfield meeting this afternoon and so thought I would post this now.

Have a good day, even if it is wet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.