Foreign food

A poor photo and a worse Blip but I need to get "it" off my chest. And most importantly please no comments on this Blip!

The Blip is of the Pizza Express Take Away (only) on the left and just as an aside the butchers we use in Ottobeuren, Fischbach's, main shop and production facility in Markt Rettenbach. The Pizza Express is owed by an Indian couple, I understand since 1999. They are the most charming couple you could wish to meet, smiling and greeting one as if best friends, even though I have only been there perhaps three times. "how are you, how is your wife and family?" who they have never met/seen .

Well my day ended with a good hot curry to burn off my disappointment.

Normally I would probably have been invited around to someone's do today. But I wasn't - not a problem itself in the least but one of the guests objects to my views on people with anything other than the traits of the German Aryan race and general bigotry. Just for the record here is Wikis summary of the meaning of bigotry:

In English the word "bigot" refers to a person whose habitual state of mind includes an obstinate, irrational, or unfair intolerance of ideas, opinions, or beliefs that differ from their own, and intolerance of the people who hold them.

This person married a refugee (no refugee should be allowed in to Germany), having got involuntarily pregnant (her grandson is a fool for making plans to start a family). Late after the divorce she rightly as a single mum got a council socially subsidised flat where she lives to this day and complaining bitterly about all the immigrants moving in as neighbours, leeching on the state also getting their flats maintained at the councils cost. One chooses to ignore the fact she hasn't been a "social security" case for decades - remarried with a good income, a brand new Mercedes every two years, four holidays a year ............ OK so the holidays were spoilt rather when the locals had a civil war and started murdering one another - had to take a break from the cheap holidays. Worse still when they started behaving again they either wanted better wages for serving the tourists and worse still many wanted to immigrate to .... yes of all places, Germany .... to build a better  future for themselves and family.

I could go on and on. However all the above isn't actually that upsetting. These obstinate, irrational, unfair people aren't worthy of it. Now I don't for a second pretend I don't have fears, even deep concerns about what is happening in Europe and where it will all end.

My great disappointment lies in those people around the above person and their "support" even if it probably is silent - I don't really know and can't fully explain it - perhaps it has something to do with money (oh and yes I could do with some of that too)-

My views on multiculturalism will have to wait for another day but I enjoyed the curry even though I had to wash it down with the local brew rather than a pint or two of Greene King IPA !

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.