Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Daily Double...

Another spectacularly warm fall day ... and a plethora of creepy crawlies which demanded a macro lens.  My first find of the day was a sycamore assassin bug having a spider shake on the mums (unfortunate for the tiny spider, but that's nature) - later in the day, still ensconced on the mums, the assassin was enjoying a sweat-bee smoothie - this was going to be my blip today until...

...I spotted this miniscule fly which conveniently landed on the same flower as a ladybug.  It makes for a pretty shot, I think, and it's a way for me to record a new find.  It took me a bit of sleuthing to identify this little fly as a four-barred knapweed gall fly.  Long name for such a diminutive insect.  I left the ladybug in the shot just to give some frame of reference as to the size of the fly.  I posted another shot HERE on Flickr

I also found a huge leaf-footed bug moving slowly around the garden.  I relocated him to the cherry tree for some better photos - something I wouldn't usually be able to do as they tend to fly off.  

After lunch, Hubs and I went for a nice walk through at the park where we ran into a naturalist friend.  So we stood around and yakked for a bit, before continuing on our way.  Nice way to spend a warm fall afternoon.  We are forecast to have one more nice day before the temps return to the 50's.  Going to enjoy it while it lasts!

Hubs is feeling a bit better today - he's definitely got the bug on the run.  Very glad, as there isn't much worse than a case of Man-Flu...for either of us!

Thanks for stopping by.  

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.