Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Too late...

...for the fish, that is. The osprey, on the other hand, was having a banner day it seems.

I was hard pressed to pick a blip today. I went out very early this morning and headed first to Redington Beach and then on to Sand Key Park up in Clearwater. I saw two new (for me) terns and a host of other fascinating birds and butterflies. Actually, I saw probably 100 monarchs at Sand Key - they must have recently emerged. It was lovely to see so many of them. Also loads of what I believe are Ceraunus blue butterflies - a new one for me.

At Sand Key, I discovered a group of 9 wood storks with a single roseate spoonbill. They were fishing and preening and doing important stork-things. I also saw both kinds of night hersons, along with four other heron species, and both snowy and great egrets. And I took over 800 photos. Yikes. I've managed to sort them down to under 100 and will no doubt delete more when I go through them again in a few days. It was a good morning.

If you have the stamina, I posted 14 photos on Flickr, starting HERE.. If you only have time to look at one photo, I suggest this one, because it will make you laugh.

I finished researching a health care plan for us today and determined that it makes more sense for us to continue on the COBRA plan for 2015. Better coverage and slightly lower rates than what I was able to get on the open marketplace.

I may venture down to Ft DeSoto again tomorrow ... I'll see how I feel when I get up tomorrow. I am liking going out in the mornings and then working in the afternoon. The mornings have been so lovely lately - cool enough for sweater on the beach but warming up nicely by mid-morning.

Thanks for stopping by!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.