Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

More Red...

It is shaping up to be a red week. In fact, you very nearly got another house finch today, until His Royal Redness showed up at the bird bath for a drink late this afternoon, stealing the show.

Although I usually prefer to photograph birds in more natural settings, this one showing the tiny bed of water on the beak just spoke to me. The cardinals aren't visiting the feeders much right now - a sign that there are plenty of natural food sources available to them right now. That will change as the weather gets colder and the native seed heads are gobbled up.

We had a hard frost last night with temperatures dropping to 24 F so the activity at my heated bird bath was fast and furious all day. I even had a rare visit from a pair of American robins , always a delightful surprise (and also featuring red!)

I've posted my five favorite shots from today starting HERE on Flickr. It was a bit of a hard choice today!

Thank you for sending my pair of house finches to the spotlight yesterday - your comments, stars and hearts are always such a gift.

I hope everyone is having a good Monday.

xxoo,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.