Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mirror, Mirror, on the wall...

...who's the fairest finch of all?

It's easy to take birds like the humble house finch for granted. They are in our yard nearly every day of the year and they are rather plain when you compare them to birds like the blue jays or the cardinals with their flashy colors. But, the house finch has it's own special understated beauty, especially the males like these two with their rich reds and deep browns. And when they perch in the top of the cherry tree as it's leaves turn a reddish hue...well, it's a definitely one of life's little moments.

I was snapping shots of the bird in the foreground and when I moved a little closer, I realized that there was a second male just behind him - so I kept shooting until I got the two of them in nearly identical poses. I like the way they mirror each other.

This morning Hubs and I ran some errands and then headed up to Sunrise Mountain for an hour or so of hawk-watching. Weather conditions were perfect to see large numbers of migrating raptors - winds from the north, and cold. We about froze our asses off, but we did see a number of hawks and a golden eagle so it was worth it! We also saw large mixed flocks of smaller songbirds and a lone indigo bunting who was passing through. When we hiked up to the observation area, there were already about 15 birders there with binoculars, scopes and lots of layers of clothes. Always nice when there are more experienced people around to help identify the birds, especially since I really don't know much about raptors.

On our way down the mountain, we saw an unbelievable sight - a NJ alligator!!!. It was shocking and I was lucky to be able to get off a few quick shots. Just happy I wasn't attacked...

Quiet afternoon around the house and then probably a bunch of veggies from the farm for dinner.

Glad you enjoyed yesterday's bluebirds - and glad I'm not the only one who found it amusing. Thanks!

Happy Sunday...

Debbi

Post script: I just now realized that I posted a very similar on this day last year - of a purple finch and goldfinch...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.