The Church Under the Stars, Mount Peel

It was still light when I got home from Christchurch last night, and with clear skies above I thought it would be a good idea to head up to the Church of the Holy Innocents once the astrological twilight was over.

I've been meaning to get a shot of the Church at night, but I've been waiting for the right time. Unfortunately, my plan hasn't quite come together on this one as my shot has been done too late in the year as the central core of the Milky Way has dipped below the hills when taken from this vantage point. Mental note - shoot the church again next August!!

Still, the shot still looks quite nice I reckon. It will be even better once the earthquake repairs are done to the east wall too :-)

In the extra photo, you'll see the morning view on my commute to Christchurch, taken just north of the Ashburton river and looking out to the fresh dump of Spring snow on the ranges between Mount Somers and Mount Hutt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.