First Friday Art Walk

It's turned into a big hoopla downtown, lots of people out on a Friday night, a few legitimate art venues, but mostly stores and bars turned into ad hoc art galleries to get in on the action. The emphasis seems to be on the partying rather than the art, but I guess anything that helps artists showcase their work is better than nothing. Most of the time I prefer to visit a gallery without a crowd at my back, but tonight found us roaming around to a few exhibits. What caught my eye was a collection of black and white photographs transferred onto jagged pieces of driftwood--the weathered wood lent a lovely patina to the images. The young artist enjoyed everything about the process, from scavenging the wood to creating the final images, and his enthusiasm was contagious. I appreciated seeing someone experimenting with a unique presentation. We wandered a bit more, but were back home by 7--my idea of a big night on the town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.