The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cracked

At some point last weekend, my laptop screen got cracked. I mainly use the iPad, but still....I should be more upset, but it just seems like one more piece of stuff that will need replacing 'one day'. Anyway, I was talking to FrankS recently about where to go next with my hardware, so maybe this is a sign.

I was very tired today, having woken and got up far too early. I managed to make a chocolate kidney bean cake (yes, really) and some soda bread before I crashed. Steve and I went to town: I to the library, where I looked at Indian cookery books on the very comfy sofa and nearly fell asleep... I always forget that really lavish, illustrated cookery books can be borrowed from the library. Why buy them when I don't even know if I'll like them?

Then we went to a supermarket and I got some g-f bread mixes. One of them cost £3 and the loaf it made was a disaster. Hollow inside, with the paddle stuck in a blob of uncooked dough. That's the first time that's happened. I'm not happy. I'm also planning to go on a gluten-free baking bread course next February: that gives me enough time to save up for it! The superior G-f bread flour blend I intended to buy from the tutition company is now only available as part of a crowdfunding option. Is it me, or is the whole world slightly cracked?

Later, I read the New Statesman in bed and shouted like Victor Meldrew at all the folks on the estate who were letting off fireworks at random intervals all through the evening. Bomble wasn't bothered, but I felt as if I was living in a war zone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.