The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Tiffany November

So, this picture does not do justice to my lovely meeting with HareBrain in Black Book Cafe in Stroud, scene of many a blipmeet...BUT there was too much faffing around with cameras already, and my eyeballs taking off in strange directions! It was wonderful to meet with Nicky/Harebrain at last, and I hope we'll see each other again. She's also been meeting other local blippers: an adventure for her.

I couldn't settle to anything today after we came back from the cafe, so I ended up listening to Under Milk Wood (full cast recording) as we are looking at it in our literature class on Tuesday. and attempting a jigsaw at the same time. I can quite see why Under Milk Wood has been compared to "A Welsh Ulysses". Dylan Thomas had read the work by Joyce, and conceived the idea of a similar treatment, but earlier versions of UMW included the concept of "The Town that was Mad", with the idea that the residents of the fictitious town of Llareggub (try reading that backwards) had been officially declared mad by the War department, and the town cordoned off by a barbed wire fence. Fortunately, the 'mad' idea didn't make it to the final cut. I was labelled 'mad' as a kid. Nowadays I can shrug off such labels and marvel in my individuality, but at the time the teasing stung.

Anyway, here's the Tiffany calendar. I turned the page, suddenly noticed the November image, and liked it. I also love the fact that it's now the 8th already. which means that my maternity cover-period at work is almost up (less than a month to go). After that, I'll be reducing my nursery hours. Less money, more time. For me, it's a good trade-off.

I hope that Nicky/Harebrain will publish a portrait of one or both of us. CleanSteve was also in attendance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.