The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Red Car and Raindrop

I couldn't sleep because I was so excited about the 25th anniversary of the Berlin wall coming down (it's actually 25 years on Sunday 9th). I woke very late to hear the rain falling, and to an absence of CleanSteve. Eventually I found him downstairs watching the rugby game against NZ. I knew I had to go out and buy an ink cartridge, but I was delaying because of the relentless rain.

Eventually I got the ink I needed, and set to work. I'd had the brilliant idea of entering the local museum's Secret Artist initiative at the last minute, thinking I could chop up some of my photos and make them into a collagey thing. Which I dare say I could have done, with a bit more thought and planning. Leaving it to the last minute, though....

This frustrating process continued for many hours, though I popped out to the museum that is hosting this challenege, to attend a talk on poetry and visual culture before, during and after WWI. It was excellent, but my desk beckoned again. Finally, about half past ten, I acknowledged to myself and CleanSteve that I don't have the formidable talent of my next door neighbour (who has been to art college), not the time that she has. Every collage I produce is graded from meh to bleh, unless I have some tutor input.

However, I couldn't let it go, and ended up printing one of my photos (whole, not chopped up) and preparing it for submission anyway, given that I'd spent so long going round in ever-decreasing circles. Along the way, I noticed that most of the pictures I took with the 50D are definitely better quality. I also noticed that it's incredibly irritating working with a ropey old laptop that doesn't charge properly, and
a printer that takes FIVE cartridges! These, however, are first-world problems.

I snapped this raindrop outside the big house in Stroud known as The Castle, in Castle street. It is no such thing. and is now divided into flats. The red car drove unexpectedly into my shot, but I thanked it silently for bringing in more vibrance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.