Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Remembrance Sunday

Remembrance Sunday - a day for the nation to remember and honour those who have sacrificed themselves to secure and protect our freedom.
I went to the service in Keighley this morning and was quite moved to see talented musician, all round lovely lady... and fellow blipper Airedaleknitter step up on to the Cenotaph to movingly play 'The last post' - oh my!
I'm especially remembering Ordinary Seaman, Eric Edward Bell from Skerton, Lancaster.  My uncle, although my Mum was only 2 when he died.
He died aged 18, on the 18th February 1944 whilst serving on board HMS Penelope.  His name is etched on the Chatham Naval Memorial.. remembered with honour.
On the 18th February 1944 HMS Penelope was leaving Naples when she was torpedoed by the German Submarine U-410.  A torpedo struck her in the after engine room which was followed 16 minutes later by another torpedo which hit the after boiler room causing her immediate sinking.  417 of the crew went down with the ship, 206 survived but Uncle Eric wasn't one of them.  I believe that Uncle Eric was shot in the water rather than drowned.. though I really need to catch up with relatives in Lancashire to find out more.  I have one photo of him, wearing his Naval Uniform... and a very smart quiff bless him. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.