Coordination!

Bill in, feet down, wings up! How this male Anna's hummingbird managed all that simultaneously as he whizzed in to land on the feeder outside our kitchen window is beyond me. One false move and he would have missed his meal!

He did have some quieter moments after his initial hunger was assuaged, as you can see in the extra photo, which also shows just how much the color of his neck feathers are dependent on the angle of the light. Looking back to last Tuesday, you can also compare the less showy markings of a female Anna's hummingbird to today's male.

The forecast for the rest of the week is leaning toward rain virtually every day, so I was delighted to have this hummingbird show up at lunchtime today, especially as it's my 1400th blip -- not a Blipfoto "notable number," but a nice round one, nonetheless.

I returned to my Silver Sneakers class at the Y this morning, six weeks almost to the hour from my fall. It was great to be back in a roomful of active "seniors" and to feel as though I'm back to normal, other than the loss of some muscle strength from those inactive weeks. Six weeks from now, I hope to report that is no longer the case!

Blip 1400

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.