Someone's Behind

You can just about guess what today's weather was like.  Positive point -- it wasn't cold at all.  Cool, yes, but I don't mind that.  A hot flush and a cool wind make a good combi.  Come to think of it, I haven't put on a coat the past week.

Good news -- the passport was in the car after all!  I am now, more than ever, inclined to believe in the existence of those mischievous elves who enjoy 'disapparating' (Hogwarts-speak) your stuff and then causing them to reappear mysteriously just when you are at your wit's end.  I knew I had taken it out with me when I left the restaurant but I swear I looked all over in the car and didn't see it ... until I had driven for the third time to Breda.  Enormous relief!  Lesson learned -- don't start on a new habit if you know you don't have the time to make it a habit.

This shot was taken just out of the free parking area on my way home.  I went to work only to attend an important meeting, during which I was the one who took the minutes.  Glad I left on time -- traffic in weather like this can cramp your mood and take away any enthusiasm you have left.

Nanzy wanted me to share a poem here sometime, so this is the draft of what I wrote yesterday evening in Breda:

(Untitled as of now ... or do you have suggestions?)


This is what I want – this bed with its eyes
open, in the dark the ceiling stains discernible;
as you whisper in my invisible ear, I trace
your craggy shoulders, the scarred boulders of your bones,
I play with the sand-dune grey of your hair, and when your
voice finally begins to yawn, I hum us both
the songs of our favourite islands, our anthems of sleep,
very softly, very softly, the sound of ash turning into smoke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.