Canopy confusion

This should have been the day where blip would have been two side-by-side comparisons: (1) the courtesy car I've had for the last few days and my own car, newly-restored after the damage it suffered through no fault of its own; and (2) Derek's G7, alongside my own G9, newly returned after its Canon check-out of the strange discolouration which developed on the LCD screen.

Work went well from 6.30 am to lunch time, so I decided to go in to the camera shop and collect the G9, after which I'd call in to the body-shop on the way home and do the car switch. I parked the courtesy car in a multi-storey car park right beside the camera shop, intending to pick up the G9 and take advantage of the nice weather to do some shot-for-shop comparisons between G7 and G9 in Stephen's Green. Great idea, but not to be. The guy brought down the G9 and gave me a form to sign, indicating that I was satisfied with the repairs which had been done. Did he really expect me to sign this without first looking at the camera? It's just as well that I insisted on seeing the G9 first, since, despite the statements on the repair docket to the effect that thorough cleaning and inspection had been carried out, the minute I switched on it was obvious that the very problem I'd brought it in to have checked out hadn't been attended to: there was the same discolouration mark on the screen, just the same as when I'd originally brought it in. So it was immediately packed up again and it's off back to Canon for another look. Not good.

I had time to kill before the scheduled pick-up time for the car, so I went walk-about. My route to Stephen's Green brought me to South King Street, where the new retail development beside the Gaiety Theatre is now partly open and well on the way to overall completion. The corner includes this dramatic overhanging canopy, mirrored top and bottom.

After a bit of a blip session in the Green it was time to return to the car and head for the body-shop. The routine of returning the courtesy car, having it checked out, returning insurance cover to my own car and all that: this took some time. Simultaneously, my own car had been brought round for inspection. Unlike Canon, this crowd did exactly what was expected of them. My little car is as good as new, complete with new wing, new skirt and new headlight. As well as the actual repairs, they gave it a thorough cleaning inside and out. Excellent service.

Back home after all this, I got stuck in to finishing off the work I'd been involved in since Sunday afternoon. All in all, a good, productive day (apart from the disappointment with Canon).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.