D77

By D77

Suffering Fools

I sit next to someone at work who is so irritating, it's seriously beginning to affect my mental health.

Ev-er-y sin-gle sy-lla-ble utt-ered by this wom-an is pro-nounced ve-ry slow-ly and del-i-vered in an in-cred-i-bly nau-se-at-ing tone in which the pitch of ev-er-y sec-ond sy-lla-ble is raised in an eff-ort to keep the list-en-er's att-en-tion but ends up sound-ing like a big long list of poor-ly in-ton-at-ed ques-tions.

The stu-dents love it.

I don't.

I've tried not instigating any conversations. That didn't work.
I've tried avoiding all eye-contact. That didn't work.
I've tried wearing headphones and listening to my iPod. That didn't work.

What I have resorted to now is maximising the time I spend away from my desk, and therefore away from her. This can prove difficult in the morning, where I have to leave really early to beat the traffic. This morning I got to work at 6:20am, and her car was there.

So it's off round the corner I go for a quick Blip sunrise and then to the local coffee shack for a fresh orange and a couple of croissants. At about a quarter past seven, other teachers arrive to spare my sanity, making it safe for me to enter the building.

-------
This sunrise shot is the result of a little piece of advice from Hues From The Far Side regarding focal lengths and Tucson Jim for the inspiration in the imagery. I would have never been able to take a photo like this a couple of months ago, and despite the clichéd nature of it, I am pleased with the result mainly due to the fact there is very little post-production involved (just a little shadow highlighting).

I also thought the shape of the mountains here look a little like Edinburgh's Arthur's Seat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.