Hole

I had a meeting with the boss and the president today. The president seemed quite responsive to my ideas in that he eagerly nodded his head at everything I said and promised three new classrooms ready for teaching in by tomorrow. All together now....

...Inshallah.

I inadvertently talked myself into quite a bit of extra responsibility during the meeting and now as well as class lists, timetables, exam writing, course planning, staff support, professional development, interviews and training, the entire English structure for the university over the next two years is in my hands. Oh, and not forgetting 20 hours teaching per week. It's a situation that I find myself in by default really (with the responsibility inherited rather than offered) as the only person in the place capable of logical thought and problem solving.

I've no real experience of assisting in the running an English department and have had to hit the ground running (actually, sprinting is more apt) but I'll hopefully have a bit more time to think things through over the next few weeks.

I do hope I don't fuck it all up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.