FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Music is Magical

My heart skipped a beat on Tuesday evening as I heard the familiar first few chords of the Bond theme played by the talented Stringfever.

It skipped again as the Titanic theme was played then ET, Fame, Pink Panther in their movie melody. Nostalgic memories from my childhood growing up in the 80s came flooding back. All from a few minutes of music.

Stringfever is a funky string quartet that play electric violins with a performance to impress even the hardcore rockers! Recommended by a musical conductor friend I knew the band would impress the guests and they most certainly did!

This evening I blocked out the chatter and noise of fellow commuters munching on snacks and chatting on their phones by plugging into my iTunes for the serenity of Rachmaninov's 2nd piano concerto featuring traditional string violins.

Coincidentally an aviation friend and I got talking on Facebook earlier when I spotted a video he posted of him practising a Rachmaninov piece on his piano!

We agreed that classical music never fails to create an emotional response. Sometimes happy, sometimes sad, but most of all it makes you feel truly alive. Music really is magical.

Off to the Royal Albert Hall next Friday evening to see my friend perform on the podium - baton at the ready and ample wit to boot if it's anything like the Leeds Castle Classical Concert the past two years! No matter what I'm sure it will be simply amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.