Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Games in the graveyard - haiku

I've photographed this tree in Otley Parish Church graveyard several times but always previously in mono, on film. Walking through the graveyard this morning I just had to shoot it again. I've also mentioned previously that I like to compose haiku, especially over the past three years when I began to do that prompted by an image in the viewfinder and this was an early one, blogging the picture and the haiku it prompted together. I can't do better than the haiku this tree image prompted initially so here it is:

earth to earth ... to dust
twist ... scream ... turn ... yet now return
games in the graveyard

The dots should be spaces but the blip editor insists on editing if I try to do that.

I've put a mono version in as an extra.

-----------------------------

Busy day, lots of catching up to do as now mobile again, but can't resist telling you how I got into haiku. Writing them has something in common with writing headlines which I always enjoyed, trying to get an idea across in a very few words (in the type of haiku I like to write, in 17 syllables).

I was sorting through photographs from my mother, who had recently died. At the same time I came across a haiku from blogger 'fivereflections':

from the old locked box
photographs you left behind
my eyes become yours

It prompted me to create a 'visual haiku' by arranging photos from my mother's box in a 5,7,5 collage. From there it was a short step to writing haiku prompted by pictures I was taking. It doesn't happen all that often and I can't do it 'to order'; it just happens from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.