Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

This morning was hectic, with me knocking a tin of paint off the top of the racking by mistake.   I wish I could have seen it hitting the floor in slow motion, but I couldn't, and it took me almost an hour to clean up the mess which meant that my other jobs were not all done.  It also meant that my arms were tired from all the wiping, spraying (of sugar soap), rubbing and scrubbing.  But you can only do what you can do.

Short snooze after lunch :-)

This afternoon was taken up with doing a little bit more to my online tax return :-(   ...God, I hope I don't have to do this every year... and various other mundane tasks.

Two peanut butter cobs and an apple were consumed at this point because it was too early for a meal but I needed to refuel :-)

This evening was interesting, taken up by going to Alter Rock Climbing Centre to climb the walls with the mountaineering group I've joined...  well not exactly joined because I've paid no joining fee yet, but I'm on the mailing list and I've been asked to go to Snowdonia with them in two weeks' time.

I can well imagine that it's hard to allow someone who you've only just met, and who you know hasn't been climbing long, to belay you on a climb... even if it's only at a wall.  But Rob was very stupid brave and I belayed him about half a dozen times, the first time being supervised by another club member thankfully as I was nervous since I haven't rope-handled since 26th September. A couple of useful pointers and I was allowed to carry on without supervision... although no doubt there were sideways glances but I was concentrating too much to notice.

I think a lot was accomplished this evening.  I met the core of the club and I liked them all.  They met me and were able to assess me and where I was as a climber.  It's good, as is life in general.  What could be better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.