Saltburn-by-the-Sea at sunset

I had to think twice the other day. Was I actually in Kenya with Kim or not? 

I didn't think so but it felt like a possibility as she's really easy to connect with. I concluded I was not and Kim confirmed today that she went home the day I arrived. 

In 2007, we were a few random sole travellers that had chosen Kenya for some voluntary work where we were part of making a new water system for a village. People came and went on different dates so we got to know a number of people.

Health and safety were not really in the equation as we trundled concrete in wheelbarrows across planks but, apart from a few minor injuries like me pickaxing Emma's ankle, we all survived in one piece and got on well together. So much so, we had a reunion for a few consecutive years. But, circumstances change, families began and we were almost in every conceivable corner of England trying to arrange dates and locations. So one year it didn't happen. We've talked about it since but never nailed the date. 

So, after swapping a few catch up messages with Kim, we met up today in this lovely seaside town close to her home. A new place for me and I'll definitely be returning. The beach is fabulous. CJ loved it too. We walked a good stretch to Marske and back before Kim showed me round the town, stopping for a coffee, and then walking back via the delightful Italian gardens. 

By, it's draughty tonight! 

The van is rocking but hopefully the gusts will ease by eight, when I'm sure I'll be in bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.