With my new book

Today was my last day of work for a while. I've had a relatively short time with the community team (just a few weeks, and part time), and it came as a bit of a surprise how much the staff felt I had contributed in so few days. I (and they) were expecting to me to be working with them into next year, and I may go back (depending on there still being a need for a locum).

This evening S gave me some books. One is light in content and size, the second is a bit bigger, and the third (this one) is large and heavy. But because it is a book about Grey Lynn, its history and the present day, with many photographs, I chose this one to go with a self portrait.

I have done few self portraits in the last almost five years. I wanted to do this to record the beard. I last had a beardless chin more than 40 years ago. The beard has to go this weekend, as on Monday I will be under the surgeons knife to remove a fortunately benign growth in my mandible. It involves extensive surgery, and I will be off work for the rest of the year. 

If I am able, I will record my experiences in the hospital, although it is likely that blipping will be delayed. Being only ten days away from the fifth year mark, I have a target.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.