A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Normals

Whenever events such as those in Paris and Lebanon today occur, after the initial shock and repulsion I am reminded of a short piece in Richard Feynman's autobiographical book "Surely You're Joking Mr Feynman"

Feynman was a physicist and involved in the Manhattan Project - the development of the US atomic bomb. 

After the successful test "... I would see people building a bridge or making a new road and I thought they're crazy, they just don't understand. Why are they making new things? It's so useless.

"But, fortunately, it's been 'useless' for [70] years now. So I've been wrong about it being useless making bridges and I'm glad those other people had the sense to [keep on working normally]"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.