The Happy Jay

I can't help thinking that this bird is laughing as he eat his peanuts, he seems absolutely delighted with them.  Normally if the Jays come to the hide they come and go very quickly as they're shy and nervous but I can only think that due to the sudden drop in temperature that they were very hungry.  There were three pairs, which in itself is unusual and they returned time and time again   -  until I ran out of peanuts.  Among the other visitors today were, Bluetits, Chaffinch, Magpie and one or two Bullfinch.  I was told that migrating birds are arriving now that the weather has changed and that I should go to Fairburn Ings to see them  -  maybe I will.

The first hour or so at the hide this morning I was on my own, which suits me fine  -  it's nice to chat to other bird watchers sometimes, but I like the peace and quiet too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.