Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Curiouser and Curiouser...

I wasn't able to see this tiny fly's strange eyes until I got the images up on my screen ...and I was totally intrigued!  I have never seen eyes quite like this before ... definitely curious looking things.  A quick search in my insect guide turned up an ID - Orthonevra nitida, a type of syrphid (hoverfly) fly.  As a point of reference, the fly is about 5 mm (.2 inches) long, so hard to see details without a macro lens and a heavy crop.  Anyway, worthy of my blip for the day!

Started the day with a long chat with my parents, followed by a nice hike followed by lunch with a good friend.  Pottered around on the patio/yard when I got home, enjoying unseasonably warm temps.  Still seeing Meadowhawk dragons - not sure that I've ever seen them this late.  Also saw another of the tiny Knapweed gall flies that I blipped a few weeks ago.  Always amazing what you see on a warm day this time of year.  

While I was pottering around outside, a flock of cedar waxwings flew in, making their high-itched thin zeeee call.  En masse, they flew into the depths of the small cedar grove in our yard, no doubt to consume berries.  All I could see was an occasional flash of yellow belly and gray wings until they all zoomed out again, bound for who-knows-where.  

I've risked putting suet out again for the past few days - no signs of bear, so maybe...just maybe...they've gone to den for the year?  Oh dear, I hope I haven't just jinxed myself!  

Thanks for stopping by.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.