Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

You can always rely on a titmouse...

...to bring a smile.  I was out early this morning putting the feeders up when the flock of titmice showed up, at least a dozen strong now.  This is actually not a very good shot - viewed up close you'll see that his face isn't in focus and the light was poor so the image had to be tweaked.  But it's the one I like best today because it gives you a sense of "flittiness" of these birds.  

I forgot to mention yesterday that I found the feeder that one of the bears had hauled off a few weeks ago.  I was very happy to find it completely intact back at the edge of the woods.  It's one of my best feeders and also new, so I wasn't happy that a bear had made off with it.

Lunch today with a good friend who also happens to be a therapist.  I think she gave me a bit of free therapy today, which I was happy to accept.  She always has a way of making me smile - I think she is probably a very, very good therapist.

Didn't get out for a walk today although I'd planned to.  The day just kind of got away from me.  But at least the sun was out and the temperatures mild for this time of year, so a bit of pottering in the yard was nice.  

After not seeing Scoobie the garden chippie for several days, he was out of his burrow today, hoovering up seeds and carrying them back to his larder.  I have no worries that he'll survive the winter just fine and, in fact, may come out next spring twice his current size.  Honestly, I couldn't even guess how many pounds of sunflower seeds he has stored in his burrow by now, not to mention the peanuts...  He can be seen in Extra, peeking out of his burrow in the mulch.  You'll have to look closely...

One other photo from today on Flickr -  a rosy, red house finch

Thanks for stopping by...
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.