GracieG

By GracieG

An unexpected Blip...that needs some explanation

This is what happens when you give modelling clay to 3 retired ladies!

My three walking companions (unbeknown to me) created a 'tableau' of our walking trips for me to take to my new home in Norfolk, based around the idea that the pace of life there is a little less frenetic and somewhat slower than Leighton Buzzard/Milton Keynes (hence the snails).  Much thought has gone into these models, for example, they are all representative of us four walkers, all colour-coded to our particular waterproof coats, and what you can't see well in the photo are all the additional extras, (also creatively modelled in clay and painted) which depict other important aspects of our walks, such as tea and cake, woolly hats, sunglasses, cows, signposts (and the confusion caused by them), cameras, and a bottle of champagne, my husband's favourite tipple, (he sometimes accompanies us).

I think they had a lot of fun creating this masterpiece and it certainly made me laugh when I was presented with it today.  It will be a wonderful (if not quirky) memory of many happy hours spent walking with my wonderful friends over the last 18 months and will grace my kitchen windowsill when I arrive in Norfolk on Friday.  Thank you chaps, I just wish I could take you all with me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.