Rather Royal

When I dropped of my freind on Monday after Spin class she gave me a lovely bunch of her Japanese iris she had growing in her garden. Wish I had my camera as they were such a beautiful sight to see. This afternoon I thought they looked so lovely against our blue/green wall in our lounge. I just couldn't get the right iris colour as they are a real royal blue with no purple in them. I thought it was time to move away from my pink theme that seems to be happing over the past few days. 

It was to have been a drizzling day but we had lots of sun and cold winds. We badly need a good fall of rain as everything is getting so dry. It has started to look rather cloudy outside now so we may get some rain later tonight.

Iris tectorum (also known as roof iris, Japanese roof iris and wall iris) is a species in the genus Iris, it is also in the subgenus of Limniris. It is a rhizomatous perennial It is native of China, Korea and Burma, with lavender-blue, bluish-violet, purple-blue, blue-lilac or sky blue flowers. There is a white form as well. It is a compact plant and is cultivated as an ornamental plant in temperate regions.

For Japanese people, the most common properties of the Iris are its ability to purify evil energies or protect oneself. People have been fond of using the design of this flower on their Kimonos for centuries. They have also appeared in many paintings and have been written about in Haiku poems. The Iris is one of the most appealing flowers to our peoples’ artistic senses.
For more information on the Japanese Iris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.