I am Seeing Pink Elephants

This morning I went to the mall as there were some good sales on and I also needed to pay my rates. I did get a few good buys for my holiday day place in Akaroa. Mostly kitchen things.

This afternoon I had my Spin Class and afterwards my friend had to pick up here antique vases, she had put on hold last week. And never got around to picking them up. That is when I found some chairs that would look great at my holiday place. The house comes with a few things included, like the fridge, washing machine, a king single bed, a single bed, a fold down dining table, crane settee, plus a few more things. But what isn't there, are chairs.

I have been looking for a while for chairs and it is hard just buying chairs without a table. The ones today would fit in well as they are the same colour wood as the table. There are six of them and only need a little cleaning up. I really only need four, but I got them. They have put them in storage for me until I am ready to move into my place in January. I was told they just came in yesterday so it was meant to be.


It was a big spend up today but all good buys. This shot was taken outside the shop and as you can see it sure is brightly coloured with all the pinks.


A little bit of useless information.. which isn't what I was like today!
"Seeing pink elephants" is a  euphemism for drunken hallucintion, caused by alcoholic hallucinosis or delirum tremens. An early literary use of the term is by Jack London in 1913, who describes one kind of alcoholic, in the autobiographical John Barleycorn, as "the man whom we all know, stupid, unimaginative, whose brain is bitten numbly by numb maggots; who walks generously with wide-spread, tentative legs, falls frequently in the gutter, and who sees, in the extremity of his ecstasy, blue mice and pink elephants. He is the type that gives rise to the jokes in the funny papers." A reference to pink elephants occurs in the 1941 Disney animated film Dumbo. Dumbo, having taken a drink of water from a bucket spiked with champagne, begins to hallucinate singing and dancing elephants in a segment known as "Pink Elephants on Parade".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.