Capital adventures

By marchmont

Embankment Morning

Embankment has memories for some folk.

Meanwhile with me, a rubbish night's sleep due to the alarm somewhere outside going off for hours. It was a high pitched constant tone and I'd forgotten my ear plugs. I felt like somebody suffering sleep deprivation torture but I mitigated it slightly with 2 pillows and The Archers podcast. What to make of Rob, and Ruth?

Things have got no better. My Oyster card that was being difficult last night failed and I had to buy a new one. That means a future tussle with the tfl website. Then my confusion with the Northern line meant I spent a long time faffing around under King's Cross and Euston stations when I could have just made the 10 minute walk in sunshine.

I did eventually make it to Embankment The view downstream was stunning with the sun glinting on the Shard. Spot all the new buildings on the London skyline.

We were in the Festival Hall and although hectic it was a good morning. It was overcast and windy by the time I made my way back to Euston so I was glad I'd blipperd earlier.

The joy was short lived. Weather, I assume, has led to serious train delays with the electrified line closed. Now on a late running diesel being diverted via Lincoln. I will get back to Edinburgh tonight, 2 hours late. And a full refund. Unfortunately the white wine has run out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.