Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Bright Contrast

Today I noticed stunningly bright white clouds straight across the mountaintops. I had never seen such a thing. It was only after I put the photos on the computer did I notice the storm clouds above were dark and had a blue. tint and grey and more ominous than I thought.

big

My theory for a little blue in the dark clouds is that the white was so bright that the reflection of the blue sky off of them made the dark clouds take on a slight hue of the sky.

At least, that's what I would have told my fourth grade Science students. Hey, it's a theory!


EDIT: Okay, they looked blue on my laptop which I use in the living room with a whole lot of glare, but when I looked on my desktop I didn't see any blue!

I still think the shot is kind of awesome with the silhouetted mountains, the bright white, fluffy clouds and the other layers, even if I don't have a cool scientific explanation for fourth graders :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.