Dancersend

By Dancersend

Oysterlings

After a dental appointment and lots of domestic tasks I got to the nature reserve with the light rapidly fading this afternoon. I was there for other prosaic reasons, but then realised I needed to find something to photograph. The area of woodland I was visiting is dark and dreary at the best of times and today it was dank and dripping as well. Then I spotted, in one of the darkest corners, an old rose stem festooned with tiny fungus fruiting bodies - Crepidotus or Oysterling, I think. There was a little light reaching in to illuminate these beautiful little structures, but I ended up supplementing this with the light from a tiny LED torch. Photography is as much to do with absence of light as with light...thankfully!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.