Reunion

Next week is Thanksgiving in the U.S. and today I left to go visit my relatives in Michigan. Before my flight I met up with these very good friends of mine at the airport. They were also flying out today, on our San Francisco flight an hour after mine to Chicago. We weren't able to see each other during their short visit to the UK this time, so the timing of our flights was perfect and we had about an hour and a half together.

Ron and Ruth knew my mother and work for the same mission organization that she had. They came to visit her just before she passed away in 2004 and we have stayed in touch ever since, with a few visits here and there. They've been very good to me!

I got a very nice First class seat to Chicago (a great benefit of standby airline employee travel) but in Chicago I had 3 hours of manic stress running between 3 terminals trying to get on a flight to Michigan - one long delay, one cancelled flight (after taxi out and then return to the gate) and one oversold flight. I finally got on that last one and was asleep in my middle economy seat before takeoff! That's the down side of standby airline employee travel!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.