Grand Rapids Symphony

Last night I finally arrived in Michigan. I'm staying in Grand Rapids for the first few days, spending time with my Uncle and Aunt, with the specific task of helping my Uncle tie up some loose ends with the family tree.

My Uncle and Aunt have lived in Grand Rapids for a couple of years. When I was visiting here in the spring I remembered a friend I'd studied with one semester in school in England. She was from Grand Rapids and the last I saw her was when I briefly visited her in 1983. I wondered what had become of her and whether she still lived here. Not even a month later she suddenly popped up on Facebook, via another mutual friend!  Not only does she still live here, but she lives almost in the same neighborhood as my Uncle and Aunt and has graciously allowed me to stay with her while I've been visiting them.

This evening she treated me to a concert at the Grand Rapids Symphony!  What a treat!  

The Programme:

RUNE BERGMANN, guest conductor
JEANINE DE BIQUE, soprano
NORMAN GARRETT, baritone
GRAND RAPIDS SYMPHONY CHORUS 
Pearl Shangkuan, chorus director

JEAN SIBELIUS (1865-1957)
In Memoriam, Op 59

ARVO PÄRT (b. 1935)
Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten

JOHANNES BRAHMS (1833-1897)
Ein Deutsches Requiem, Op. 45 (A German Requiem)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.