Family

I am visiting my relatives in Michigan for my vacation and for Thanksgiving (Thursday the 26th). For the first part of my visit I am spending a few days with my Uncle Dick, helping him tie up a few loose ends with the family tree research and helping to organize family photos.

My mother's family are Sellecks and Dick is my mother's brother. He is no beginner in genealogy as he helped start the Selleck Research Association and was its president for 10 years, and ran large trips to both New England and 'old' England. Our ancestors are from Devon and Somerset in England and originally settled in Vermont and Connecticut when they came to America. (Yes, I'm distantly related to Tom Selleck!  We share the same Great Grandfather x12!!)

Having recently jointed Ancestry.com, I was a little helpful in starting to figure out some mysteries and I was very pleased to make some new discoveries!  I feel a little like a detective!  

These are a few of the many family photographs that we have.

Middle row, left to right:
- My Great Grandfather George Selleck
- His wife Della Miller Selleck
- George with his parents, Bradley and Sarah Frisbie Selleck. Bradley fought in the Civil War and she ran a Boarding House in Breckenridge, Michigan. They were the first Michigan Sellecks in our family line, having moved here from New York.
- My grandfather Lloyd as a little boy.

Bottom Row, left to right:
- Great-Great Grandma Selleck listening to the first radio set in the town, built by my grandfather (unknown small child)
- Great Grandparents George and Della Selleck with their sons Laurence (back) and Lloyd (front)
- Lloyd Selleck, my Grandfather.
- Great-Great Grandma Sarah Selleck, on her 50th Wedding Anniversary party, wearing a bonnet she wore at her wedding!

Top Row:
- The George Selleck family farm, just 2 miles north of the town of Breckenridge, where my Grandfather grew up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.