Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

York Day Three

A leisurely late morning check out, and a wander along the Shambles and Whip-Ma-Whop-Ma-Gate (s'true!) to one of our favourite cafes for coffee and toast. I then remembered that I had left my iPad cable at the hotel, and JR (she of still working knees) rushed back all way to get it. While I relaxed over another coffee rang the hotel and asked them to have the cable ready at reception.

We then made our way to the Grand Hotel for lunch*. Except that the place we thought was the Grand Hotel, wasn't, but we checked on the phone and managed to be at the right place on time.

Just as well, as it was a real treat. Superb 5 star lunch - creative dishes, beautifully presented and great service. The photo shows JR's entree - poached ocean trout with hay smoked beetroots. Spectacular! And delicious. The mains and desserts were exceptional too. And I had my last view of the Minster out of that window.

We're now having coffee in their lounge, the restaurant is full of people having spectacular afternoon teas. We're making use of their wifi before we wander off to the station.

Loved being in York. What a treat-filled weekend!

But can't wait to see wee Archie again...

* I should add that this was not expensive - £22 for two courses, £26 for three courses. Excellent value!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.