a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Laurie

A very enjoyable lunch with my sister Happy_Janwen and my brother-in-law Incredibish with my Dad, and his friend Mary.  This is a shot of my godmother, Dad's sister, my Aunty Laurie.  

Laurie spent much of her life as a medical missionary in Africa, in Uganda for much of that time,  but at 86 she has long since retired back to England.  

Despite being a member of a Catholic religious order she has admirably strong (and sometimes surprising) views on a range of topics including the role of women in society - and is a great role model for the younger female members of the family.   She is still very active and old age doesn't seem to be slowing her down too much. 

Here, she is busy knitting blankets for Oxfam.  She will be attending a protest march in London later in the week and is due to sing Messiah at the Albert Hall in the run up to Christmas ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.