WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Canelones

... the Catalan variety. It's been a quiet day at home, and I took advantage of that to spend a few hours cooking. The sourdough production line is in full swing again now that I have a working oven -- two loaves on the go today. I also got out my new favourite Spanish cookbook, Anya von Bremzen's The New Spanish Table. I'd taken it to Spain with me but had few opportunities to use, it owing to aforesaid lack of oven and also our naughty tendency to eat out rather a lot.

In Catalonia, it's traditional to eat cannelloni the day after Christmas. This recipe uses the very classic Catalan combination of spinach, pine nuts, and raisins (plus some scraps of jamón) for the filling. Verdict: not bad, but a bit bland -- I'll increase the nutmeg next time. Like all cannelloni it's a lot of work to prepare, but once it's in the oven you can sit by the fire and enjoy a glass of wine and a good book (written by S, watch this space!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.