Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Poser...

I should have gone out for a walk today...but it was only 38 F with a brisk wind and, try as I might, I couldn't muster the enthusiasm to be outside for more than about 20 minutes.  Which left me with limited choices for a blip (saving the cats for when things get really difficult this winter!)  So my choices were ... titmouse, goldfinch, cardinal ... or Downy Woodpecker.  I chose this one must because it's unusual to find one perched on a horizontal limb like this.  This little female (likely one of this year's brood) was waiting to get at the suet feeder, chipping and bobbing her head, trying to get a second female to hurry it up a bit.

I've posted an alternate in Extras - a dapper male cardinal hiding in the pine tree.

Still sorting through pics from this weekend.  Can't say that I got any really "wow" shots, but definitely a few keepers in the lot.  Even got a barely passable photo of a Northern Gannet - first I've ever seen, so worth keeping as a memory-shot.  I'll post a link, probably tomorrow, with a few shots for anyone interested.  

Fire place is cranking, house is toasty, tea is brewing...and now I have to be my own buzz-kill by paying some bills...

Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.