Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Thanksgiving Buffet at the Bistro

I decided to blip early today since we have a fairly long drive ahead of us and when we arrive, I just want to enjoy time with our family.  So, after I topped off all the feeders in the Bistro, I snapped a few shots of the birds - all of them were drek.  Then, along came the Squirrel Twins, Boris and Ivan.  Ivan, who's a bit leaner than Boris, was happy to pose for a few quick shots.  I was too close to get his whole body in the frame, so this is what you get, uncropped, full frame.  I don't remember the last time I blipped a squirrle - it's been a while.  

I checked Scoobie's burrow and see that he has sealed off the entrance which probably means he's in for the winter.  Chipmunks don't truly hibernate in that they don't sleep through; but they do lower their metabolism and sleep for long periods of time in winter, awakening periodically to eat some of the food they've stored in their burrow.  And, if we get a warm spell in the winter, it's quite possible Scoobie will come out to gather some more food.  Sleep well, little Scoobie.

As soon as Hubs finishes up a couple of items in the office, we'll hit the road, and hopefully arrive late afternoon in Washington.

If you are traveling today, please be safe.  And if you're not, well...Happy Hump Day.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.