Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Remains...

While Hubs and I were having breakfast, we heard a thump from the living room window - the unmistakable sound of a bird hitting the glass.  A quick look outside revealed no signs of a stunned bird...but it did reveal a glimpse of a sharp-shinned hawk who'd just landed in the cherry tree next to the feeders!  The sharpie, being a nervous hawk, took off quickly, flushing a mourning dove - a chase ensued and I'm not sure of the outcome.  However, based on the pile of feathers under the edge of the deck, at least one bird became a meal for a hawk, probably very early this morning or late yesterday. So while this isn't much of a mystery blip, it is sort of a mystery since I'm not saying what kind of bird it was ( I'll tell tomorrow). 

Nature can seem cruel sometimes, but it helps to remember that if the hawks don't eat, they starve to death. Some studies suggest that up to 70% of all raptors fail to survive their first year, largely due to starvation.    
I collected a few of the feathers from the pile and put them on a mirror in my soft box then had some fun playing.  This is a composite of 8 images, manually focused, then stacked in Helicon.  I like to think of this as my small way of honoring the mystery bird as well as the hawk. Thanks to Ninniex for hosting TinyTuesday this month!

Today is another cold, blustery day.  The feeders are mobbed with birds (even after the unfortunate "incident") and I'm enjoying them from the comfort of my living room where I have a roaring fire going.  Several years ago we had our old fireplace replaced with one that has a fan the redirects the heat back into the house rather than up the chimney.  It's made such a difference in our heating bills in the winter as it easily heats the whole downstairs and a good part of the upstairs.  A good investment.  Plus having a fire on a cold day just makes me feel so cozy.

We're leaving fairly early tomorrow to drive down to Washington.  Really looking forward to spending some time with my nephew and his family.  I think we could all use some time together.  The funeral for my brother in law (my nephew's father) is next weekend so it's a sad time for all of us.  But having some time together will allow us all to share some happy memories.  And, my nephew's son is not yet quite 2 years, so he will not let us be sad for any length of time.  

Not sure what I'll find to blip in the next few days - it may well be some iphone quickies.  And my commenting will be sporadic-to-poor, so apologies in advance.  

Be well, and challenge yourself to perform at least one random act of kindness this week.  It's balm for the soul.

xo
Debbi

PS:  My back is feeling much better, but I'll continue the drugs for another couple of days just to be safe.  Great not to be in pain, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.