Wrapped Up In A Christmas Blanket And ....

.... Each Other

As I approached the hilltop parking area for Amwell Nature Reserve I saw this young couple run across the road from the public footpath opposite. They looked so happy and obviously in love, wrapped tightly together in their Christmas blanket. Their joy, their youth and the palpable feelings between them made me feel quite emotional.

I've been thinking about blankets and throws. Everyone loves them. Lots of children have favourite blankets as comforters. One of my sisters used to pluck her fluffy woollen bedclothes to get to sleep when she was little. We used to say:

The Owl and the Pussycat went to sea
In a beautiful pea-green boat,
They took some honey, and plenty of money,

Wrapped up in a blankie. (Instead of a five pound note) :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.