Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Just filing my nails, dear

I was astonished how close to home I found this beautiful bird today - just down by the stream 100 metres or so from my house.  Of course I've seen herons further along on the marshes, but this was where the stream runs alongside a track used by various 4x4s and the postie.  I spotted him (the heron, not the postie) landing on the gravel, then a truck sent him completely silently up into a tree and there he stayed peering down at me while I got my shots.  It was me who left first, he wasn't going to leave without a quota of fish!  (By the way, for him read him/her, I have honestly no idea).

So I did get lucky, especially as it was a very busy day with a satisfactory but tiring trip to Southampton (not my favourite city).  And tonight is a choir rehearsal so I need a) to get myself together for that and b) do as much looking as I can at your lovely journals before I go.  However, hopefully all omissions will be made good in the morning.

Happy Tuesday evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.