Thinking aloud (3)

At the start of Amanda’s workshop we got to choose an image that represented something of where we were at.  Always a good sign if they are interesting images.  Then we each spoke to it by way of introduction, where we were at, our intentions for the day.  This was the one I chose.
 
It had something to do with the different phases of my life, that somehow I felt that I didn’t embody them all - hiding my light sort of thing, especially since I retired.  That I didn’t know how to step into eldership in a congruent way, to express my gifts more fully in the world now that I no longer work.  Either they lie mute and dormant or leak out in inappropriate ways.  The concentric circles represented the different phases, the individual stones were key experiences.  Somehow it all felt disparate and disconnected as if my past did not inform my current life.  

Later I saw that the surrounding water was the ocean of awareness that holds it all, connects us all.  It was a rich day, the question of eldership and contribution remained open.  I took my focus off the rocks and trusted in that spacious ocean, surrendered to the currents of wind and water.

Thinking aloud series starts here.

#am writing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.