ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I have had great fun this morning “playing” with the image you see on the screen and you would never guess what it was from looking at this - if I look at it for long enough, I can hardly remember what the original looked like either.

It’s not that there was anything wrong with the original, but it just needed a little tweak here and there to make it look more abstract.

Perhaps we do that with our lives - especially if we feel we aren’t worthy or that we don’t look good enough.  I was reading only yesterday that a beautiful young lady had taken her own life because she didn’t feel she had a “perfect celebrity figure” and the pressure became too much for her.  Her family described her as “stunning” but she saw herself as “worthless”. 

When I was in Marlborough yesterday, I met two lovely mothers.  The first one was in Waitrose, where I had gone to have coffee whilst waiting for the bus home - her little daughter, Grace, who was 2 years old, has Downs Syndrome and she was the most beautiful child.  She chatted to me in her own little way and her mother and I had a chat too;  we talked about Grace and her mother said that she would be going to a mainstream school - I shared my experiences of another friend, many years ago, whose daughter, who also had Downs Syndrome, had done very well in school and was loved by everyone.

Then when I was on the bus, which kept breaking down, I chatted to a lady whose son, Thomas, had a speech impediment - I had thought he was deaf, because she was signing to him, but he has a rare disorder, so we chatted about how she coped with that and bringing up three other children, and I also chatted to Thomas.

We can’t ignore people who are different, and we owe it to those who are struggling in their lives to help them in whatever way we can - after all, what’s the point of our lives if we don’t?

“Success has nothing to do with
     what you gain in life
          or accomplish for yourself.
It’s what you do for others.”
Danny Thomas


P.S.  I also had also had a great time with my friend, Sarah, earlier and if you are wondering - we did have a cake with our coffee!  Sorry I didn't get round to responding to your comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.