FLOWER FRIDAY

Who would believe just a month before Christmas that we would have honeysuckle still blooming in the garden?

I was late up this morning - because I can be - so was out in the garden in my pink robe - but not pink slippers, as the grass is very wet.  I decided that it might be best to snip off one of the honeysuckle flowers and take it indoors to photograph, since it was rather high on the bush and I knew Mr. HCB would not be happy if I said I wanted to climb a ladder to get to it!

I know I will enjoy the flower on my kitchen windowsill - the perfume is still very strong and the flower is beautiful, even though we have had a couple of heavy frosts and lots of rain, but it has been quite sheltered. 

Made me think about how we cope when all manner of things are thrown at us - sometimes life deals us severe blows and it’s hard to get over them, but when we do, and often with the help of family and friends sheltering and helping us, we are all the stronger for having fought and won.

“Confidence, 
     courage and 
          determined spirit 
               are vital for surviving 
                    hard times.” 
Lailah Gifty Akita

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.