JUNE IN NOVEMBER

I was up and out early today as I was hoping to buy a new top to wear at Christmas and for my birthday, but sadly my mission failed.  However, I did have a good conversation with a Nepalese Army Veteran at the bus stop, which started my day well. 

Once I was in town, I decided to go and have a coffee before I started shopping, and met this lovely lady, June, who was standing in the queue behind me in the Marks & Spencer coffee shop.  Those who know M & S will realise that it was not quick service - and it seems to be the same in every M & S nationwide - but I managed to persuade June to let me pay for her pot of tea and bacon roll, although she took some persuading!  I said I hoped she had a lovely Christmas and went to sit down, thinking that was the end of our conversation.

However, June came and sat down next to me and we had a lovely chat.  I introduced myself and she told me her name was June;  she said that she would be 83 on 24th June next year.  I said that was obviously why she was called “June” so it was a good job I wasn’t called “December” as my birthday is on Boxing Day!  We laughed about that and then she told me she was hoping to go to Scotland to stay with her daughter and grandson for Christmas, as she was now on her own and quite lonely, her husband having died 8 years ago.  

As I was leaving, I asked if I could take her photograph, and she was happy for me to do so - I may never see June again, but I hope she felt blessed today and that she has a wonderful Christmas with her family.

“God doesn't bless us 
     just to make us happy; 
He blesses us 
     to make us a blessing.” 
Warren W. Wiersbe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.